Australasian Cruise industry honours brightest Stars in Sydney

CLIA AustralasiaThe stand-out stars of the Australasian cruise community have been honoured at the 19th Annual Cruise Industry Awards in Sydney, where more than 500 people gathered to acknowledge the most dedicated members of the Australian and New Zealand travel trade.

Held by Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) Australasia at The Star Sydney on Saturday February 15, the gala dinner and presentation night was hosted by actor and singer Tim Campbell and involved 19 awards for travel agencies and individuals from both sides of the Tasman.

CLIA Australasia Managing Director Joel Katz said this year’s awards had attracted more than 560 entries from across Australia and New Zealand, more than any previous year.

“This year’s winners reflect an increasing level of dedication among travel agents when it comes to engaging with their clients and developing their cruise business,” Mr Katz said. “Their passion for cruising is stronger than ever and a sign of the growing levels of expertise among cruise specialists right across the Australasian travel trade.”

Top winners on the night included Julie Avery of Brighton Travelworld, named Australia’s Cruise Consultant of the Year, and Lorraine Van Veen of House of Travel Botany Junction, awarded New Zealand Cruise Consultant of the Year. Jeff Leckey of House of Travel was named Cruise Champion Australasia.

Agency winners included Bicton Travel, named Australia’s Large Cruise Agency of the Year, and helloworld Lambton Quay/St Heliers/Mt Eden/Botany, chosen as New Zealand’s Large Cruise Agency of the Year. Australia’s Small Cruise Agency of the Year was New Farm Travel, while New Zealand’s Small Cruise Agency of the Year was Pukekohe Travel.

A highlight honour was the induction of former Carnival Australia CEO Ann Sherry into the CLIA Hall of Fame, recognising her pivotal role in the industry’s success over more than a decade.

For a full list of winners visit “”

(CLIA Australasia)