Weinberg Elected Chairman of Canaveral Port Authority

Tom WeinbergDuring the November Commission meeting, Board members unanimously selected Tom Weinberg to serve as Chairman of the Canaveral Port Authority after newly elected Micah Loyd and Bob Harvey formally were sworn in to begin their terms.

Elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014, Chairman Weinberg is a fourth-generation Brevardian elected from District 5. His career included positions as Chief of Staff for former U.S. Senator Mel Martinez and Deputy County Administrator for Orange County, Florida. Currently, he is a Director of Fidelity Bank of Florida headquartered in Merritt Island. Mr. Weinberg also holds a Florida real estate license.

For the upcoming year, Wayne Justice will serve as Vice Chairman of the Commission. He was elected to the Commission representing District 3 for a term beginning in January 2015. Vice Chairman Justice is a maritime consultant, who retired as a two-star Admiral after a 37-year career in the U.S. Coast Guard.

Selected as Secretary/Treasurer, Jerry Allender was elected from District 1 to the Port Authority Board in August 2010 for a term beginning in January 2011. The Titusville resident is an attorney with his own firm. He also previously served as a Port Commissioner from 1983 to 1994.

New Port Commissioner Micah Loyd is a Titusville resident elected from District 2. He is a Certified General Contractor and second-generation owner of Loyd Contracting, Inc. In addition to his service on the Port Authority Board, he also sits on the North Brevard Economic Development Zone Board.

Cocoa resident Bob Harvey was elected from District 4. The new Port Commissioner served 33 years in the United States Army and Air Force as a fighter pilot and combat veteran. He retired as a Colonel and is a published author and airline pilot.

(Port Canaveral)